Jenny Original

My friend Jenny used to make these absolutely beautiful baby slings.  She gave me one 7 years ago when my youngest daughter was born.  After that, every time I needed a baby gift, I ordered a Jenny Original baby sling and gave it to the expectant mother.  It was always a favorite gift!  I told Jenny years ago that one day people would see a sling and say, “Is that  a Jenny Original?”

My family lived in Richmond for 6 1/2 years.  During that time Jenny was an important part of my life.  Our time together in the Family Room at church will always be treasured.  It was here that we met, spoke of our babies with Jesus, and cried together.  We spent many more days in that family room.  I’m not sure if Jenny realized what that time meant to me, but her kind and loving words carried me through my darkest days.

I remember seeing the Stevens Family walk into church before I knew them.  Jenny was pregnant with James.  I watched them each week in anticipation of the baby being born.  I was still raw from losing my own baby.  When James was born, I could not take my eyes off of him.  I was drawn to him.  A little peach fuzz, blonde boy, very much like my own little boy.  It was shortly after that I met the Stevens Family.

We became close.  We shared a small group together.  Our daughters went to Scouts together, choir together, and even coop together for a time!  Jenny and her girls spent endless hours helping my family with fundraisers for brain cancer, painting little Christmas ornaments, collecting toys for the hospital, and so much more.  Some of my fondest memories are sitting at my dining room table and painting those ornaments that would be given to those who donated toys for the hospital.  We painted for hours and just chatted!

Four years ago, we moved again.  I have not seen Jenny in quite a long time.  I think of her often and the impact she has made in my life.  She is a friend who has changed my heart.

Jenny did not only make original baby slings.  Jenny is original in her heart.  She reaches out just a little bit farther.  She gives just a little bit more.  She hugs just a little bit tighter.  She cares just a little bit deeper.  She lives and breathes Jesus in everything she does.  I cannot think of a better example of someone who others can see Christ through.

I love you Jenny.  You have impacted my heart and that will leave an impression forever.  My heart aches that you are battling right now.  I just want you to know that you have taught so many people so much.  You have touched the world.

Thank you for being so original, Jenny.  There is no other like you!  May you find peace and strength through God on this journey.  I will continue my prayers for you and for your family.  I love you all.

Jason Crabb – He Knows What He’s Doing

Dear Jesus,
Jenny needs you.  Her family needs you.  Wrap your love around them and don’t let go.  Let your peace and strength invade their inner souls.  Shower them with your Spirit and surround them with the support they need now and in the future.  The journey is long and tiresome, but this is not our home.  We are but here temporarily, on our way to your arms, where we will all rejoice with you in eternity!
Amen

Leave a Reply

