Daylight Savings – From the Eyes of a 7 Year Old

This morning, as we were getting ready for school, my youngest daughter asked me, “Well, did everyone change their clocks?”  I told her simply, yes.  She was not satisfied with this answer, but at this time, I did not realize this.  She pondered this habit, this tradition, this bizarre occurrence in her mind as we got into the car and began our travel of first driving my eldest daughter to school, then driving little Emma to school.  It was just as we were approaching Emma’s school that she brought up this subject again.  She asked me why we change the clocks.  I tried my best, in my feeble attempt, to explain that we don’t like driving to school in the dark, so when it begins to stay dark longer in the mornings, we change the clocks so that we will be able to drive to school in the daylight.  I also explained that the sun will set earlier now, so it will also rise earlier.  She thought about this and then asked why can’t we just go to school after the sun rises.  Why do we have to change our clocks.

Wow!

“Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”
Matthew 18:3

My mind was blown.  I sat quietly as I drove to capture my thoughts and form words she might understand.  This is what I came up with.

I told Emma just how smart she was for thinking this way and I also told her she was not wrong.  God created our world with a big, beautiful sun.  And the sun gives us different amounts of light as the seasons change.  God intended for people to wake and rise with the sun, do their work for the day, and go to bed when it got dark.  But, people got too busy.  People started having too much to do and needed to make sure they could get it all done. So, they created clocks, which of course are based upon the sun.  The difference is that as the seasons change, clocks do not change, so people have to change them to keep up with God’s amazing creation, the sun.

See, people think that we need more, need to do more, need better technology, better ways to accomplish things, etc, etc, etc.  This list can truly go on forever!  If we stepped back and looked at what God has already put in place for us, we might just see that His creation is all we ever need!

Perhaps we are burnt out, stressed out, overworked, and exhausted because of those darn clocks!  Maybe we should rise with the sun, have a nice breakfast and make our way to work.  Then, head on home as the sun begins setting for a hearty meal.  Doesn’t that sound fantastic?

All of these years I have taken Daylight Savings for granted.  It took my 7 year old to jolt me back to reality.  Faith like a child, Jesus says.  I hope Emma never loses her insight and her faith.  She teaches me things everyday!

As you are all adjusting to the time change, take a moment to realize that this is not how it is supposed to be.  This is not the life God intended for us.  Thankfully, this is not our world!  We have a world of eternity waiting for us with Jesus, where there are not clocks to change and no deadlines to meet, and no more being late!  It will be a blessed place where time will not exist.  God’s glory will be the only thing we need to concern ourselves with in eternity!  That sounds good to me!

AMEN!

Leave a Reply

