God’s Strength

Have you ever thought of God’s strength as medication?  Something you can take to ease the pain?  Something you can take to push through until the end of the day?  Instead of popping a pill because of  the next stress headache, maybe try opening the bible and digesting a few verses.  The bible is filled with God’s Word, the Word that relieves all pain, physical and emotional.  The Word that releases all stress, if we allow it.  The Word that transforms us from crazy busy to peaceful.

Matthew 11:28-29 states, “Then Jesus said, ‘Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you.  Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls.”

Jesus wants us to lay our burdens on Him.  He does not want us to manage all alone.  Once we release our burdens to Christ and walk beside Him, we will find a peace that will begin to transform our lives.  Tracie Miles shares in the book, Stressed-Less Living, “His desire is that we come to understand the importance of walking with him everyday, because that is where we gain our strength.”

We are begging for strength to get through the day, week, month.  I know, I have been there.  But, instead of begging and pleading, why are we not releasing to God?  Why are we not letting go of our troubles and praying over them?  Why are we not stepping back to take a look at how we allowed ourselves to become this stressed out to begin with?

I understand that some situations just put us into immediate stress without any warning.  For example, when my son was diagnosed with brain cancer, our entire world just turned on us.  We were put into high stress mode from nothing just the day before.  He died one month later and again, stress just increased immediately. However, we grasped on for God.  He sent us a life line and we held on as tightly as we could.  We let go of EVERYTHING else around us: friends, obligations, parties, social gatherings, extra work, etc.  Totally and completely let go of all of it.  We clung to the one who we knew could pull us through.  And He did.

God will give us strength when we need it.  “Strength to walk in his joy when we cannot find any reason to be joyful.  Strength to stand firm in our faith when things seem hopeless.  And strength to be strong when the painful things of life are taking their toll on our hearts.”  (Stressed-Less Living, Tracie Miles)

 

That situation is not typical.  Most everyday stress comes from over-booking yourself for various things.  Could be work, social, volunteering, play dates for kids, sports, pressures of keeping house, etc.  I could go on and on.   When normal, everyday life stresses creep into your life, you need to step back and say to yourself, “What can I get rid of?  What is it God is telling me?  What is God’s will for me today?”  Maybe God doesn’t need you to be at both soccer practice and PTA.  Maybe He needs you to be in His Word.

I have made a habit of praying each morning and listening to some worship music as well to start off my day.  It has really made an impact on how the rest of my day unfolds.  I challenge you to do something similar.  Find a few moments before your day begins to say hello to God and to ask Him what He has planned for you today.  Then, make sure you do that and not too much else!  At the end of the day, be sure to thank Him also.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “God’s Strength

  1. Marilyn Vaters says:

    Thanks Erin, for sharing God’s strength is all we need to rely on to see us through whatever circumstances face us. I am learning to turn to God first, sometimes it is ask help from others then pray but it should be pray first and God will supply what and whom we need. Blessings and prayers my friend.

  2. Janet says:

    You have done it again! found the essence of God’s desire for us….I too have found God’s grace through prayer and practice. I start my day with prayer…..on work days, listen to gregorian chanting (in Latin) on the way to work, park on the top level of the garage just to seek His presence. I have realized there I have no power, just His working through me, caring for patients with His hand. I cannot make the sun rise or set, bring on great storms, float by beautiful clouds, produce rainbows of brilliant color and so on……I am grateful for each minute of life…..and only through Him have a realized this! Although times are tough, I seek strength in HIM and His word! Blessings to you cousin!

  3. smeltontx says:

    Love your thoughts! I do listen to praise music in the morning on my way to work, and that helps start off my work-day for sure. I like to listen to praise music in the car because I don’t like driving and it helps calm me. I am definitely going to try a quick prayer first thing when I wake up before starting my day, and asking God what He wants from me for the day. I love that!

  4. Stephanie says:

    Erin, love the way that you put it. All so often we ask God for help and strength to deal with a situation instead of giving it to him. This is so simple, yet so difficult. I love starting my day with him. It has impacted my life in so many ways. I usually listen to music as I work and it has helped in keeping me calm and focused throughout the day. Thank you for your witness and sharing your journey.

  5. TABITHA JONES says:

    Erin,
    I just love to read your post. You make me feel you are right here beside me talking. I start my day with God before I ever get out of the bed. I always say a prayer when I first wake up. I also love to start my day with music. I have taken a loving to K-LOVE every morning and it helps me to get the day going well.

  6. jtuttle84 says:

    I love this post, Erin! I have really noticed a difference in my life since beginning these OBS and spending more time with God and in His Word. Its amazing how much calmer I am and how much more at peace I feel.

Leave a Reply

