Whatever!

Everything has its wonders, even darkness and silence, and I learn, whatever state I may be in, therein to be content. – Helen Keller

So many people in today’s day and age want, want, want.  They want the better job, the bigger house, the better behaved children, the newest gaming system, the fancier car, the newest i-gadget, etc, etc, etc.  It is so much a “want hungry” society that it can make a person sick!  Greed is sinful and working to obtain that greed is sinful.  Whatever happened to contentment?  “Content literally means to be satisfied to the point where I am no longer disturbed or disquieted.” (Karen Ehman, Let it Go)

How often do you see  contented people around you?  We live in an “I want… I need…” society.  Turn on the television and it will tell you exactly what you want and need.  Drive down the parkway and you will find billboards telling you exactly what you want and need.  

As a first grade teacher and a mother, I try to teach my children to pray and be thankful.  We thank God everyday for the blessings he has given us.  It is on the most basic, primary level.  “Thank you God for the blessing you give to us each and everyday.  Thank you for my family, my home and for the food I have to eat.”  If each one of us went back to that simple, primary prayer, we might realize we have more than we need.  

“True contentment isn’t merely having what we want; it’s wanting nothing more than what we already have.” (Karen Ehman, Let it Go)

I feel completely blessed in every way.  I have a loving husband who works hard for our family and gives everything he has to give.  I have two beautiful girls who sometimes fight and argue, but they both have good hearts and are sweet girls learning to gain independence.  I have a son with the Lord whom I miss terribly, but I am so grateful that he is at peace and not suffering anymore.  I have a small, beautiful house and two reliable cars.  We have enough money to put food on the table everyday and even head out to dinner once in a while.  We are not rich.  We don’t take extravagant vacations.  We sometimes wonder how we will get a bill paid.  

We are just like so many others.  However, we have decided, a long time ago, not to keep up with the Joneses.  This decision has consequences.  Because of this, we are not bothered when someone gets a new car or a new house.  We don’t feel pressure to have a “better” vacation or to join every soccer, book or bunko club.  On the other hand, we don’t get invited to many functions because we sometimes say no.  When it is not a good fit for our family, we say no.  Some people can understand this and some people are offended.  

My husband and I have learned to be grateful and content in our current living situation.  We feel very blessed with what we have.  We want for no more.  When another blessing finds itself in our midst, we accept it graciously.  We do not expect anything.  

“Learn to be thankful in the midst of your unique “whatever” rather than trying to control something you were never meant to control in the first place.  God is more concerned with your attitude and obedience in the role in which he has cast you than he is about giving you a starring role.” (Karen Ehman, Let it Go)

When you learn to be content in your current living situation, truly content, a peace will find your heart.  That peace is God.  You are finally “making room” for Him.  Once God is in your peaceful, content heart, you won’t ever want to let Him go!  Missing the next bunko club won’t seem like such a big deal anymore!

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Whatever!

  1. Janet says:

    Erin….
    I am so blessed to be able to read what you write because it is what I feel….I am NOT a writer by any means! But I have come to realize that God always leads us to the places we need to be….it may not look ‘pretty’ but His plan is always perfect for us! I am so honored to call you cousin! May God watch over you, Pat and the girls…..for what you are doing is the best you can offer the girls! Having a grateful, faith-filled heart gives you everything you always will need! With love and blessings, Janet

  2. Katrina says:

    Thank you so much for the refreshing reminder of that basic prayer. I think so many of us pray it out of routine and have stopped truly feeling it and seeking it for our lives.

    • emcuomo says:

      Thanks Katrina! Sometimes it is hard to find the words to pray, but those simple prayers are so effective and they say so much! Jesus tells us to become like little children in our faith! We need to remember that!

  3. julie3344 says:

    Beautifully written! I feel the same way and it can be difficult to avoid the Joneses. But contentment is so much better than having the latest and greatest of everything. I’m encouraged by your faith and I hope that someday, I can do the same for my family.

    • emcuomo says:

      Thank you Julie. Knowing in your heart that contentment is better than keeping up with the Joneses is one step in the right direction! I is not easy sometimes and you can easily fall back into popular, social trendy ways. But, God will always take you back and show you what your true needs are and will bless you with them!

  4. Sandi B says:

    I am sure your contentment is infectious with those around you–your students, your friends & co-workers, your family. What a great gift to give to those in your life; to feel that you are not in some sort of social competition with them and accept and love them just as they are. Thanks for sharing you experience.

    • emcuomo says:

      Thank you Sandi. I hope that we reach someone, somewhere and they can see that they don’t need to want all the time and that God provides just what they need when they need it. We are so blessed!

Leave a Reply

