Mary

I spent a great deal of time this week trying to figure out what I wanted to blog about.  I even had a draft that I wasn’t thrilled with all drawn up and ready for some revisions.  Today, on the way to school, it hit me.

Who inspires me?  Who do I look up to and strive to be like?

Mary

Mary was a young girl when Angel Gabriel appeared to her.  Gabriel delivered a message from God.  “Do not be afraid, Mary; you have found favor with God. 31 You will conceive and give birth to a son, and you are to call him Jesus.32 He will be great and will be called the Son of the Most High. The Lord God will give him the throne of his father David, 33 and he will reign over Jacob’s descendants forever; his kingdom will never end.” (Luke 1:30-33)

Mary, young and frightened did not understand how this could happen.  A virgin, betrothed to Joseph, the carpenter.  Did she run?  Did she freak out?  Did she reject this Angel of the Lord?  No, she faithfully replied, “I am the Lord’s servant, May your word to me be fulfilled.” (Luke 1:38)

Do you know any 14 year old girl who would react in this way?  Or respond in this way?

Do you know any woman today who would respond in this way?

Mary is the essence of faithfulness in God.  She portrays a woman who realizes the implications of what God is asking her, yet she readily accepts the invitation.  She knows she will endure ridicule and mocking from the towns people talking about her being with child out of marriage.  She may even be stoned.  She realizes that this could ruin her engagement.  She knows she will need to tell her parents that she is with child and that they may not believe her that she was visited by an angel and conceived by the Holy Spirit.  I mean, would you believe your 14 year old daughter if she told you this?

Still, with all of that ahead of her, she gracefully said yes.  Yes to God, yes to Jesus.  She had no idea what her life might look like years down the road.  She had no idea that her son would be a miracle worker or a teacher to the rabbis, that he would heal the sick and drive out the demons.   She did not know that her baby boy conceived of the Holy Spirit would be crucified in front of her just 33 years later.   If she knew all of this, would she have accepted God’s greater for her?  Maybe – maybe not.

Fear of what’s coming stands in the way of many women today.  Sometimes the fear is real and sometimes we conjure it up in our minds.  Mary was a perfect woman.  She was perfect in every way that God could have wanted her to be.  Of course, He knew that and that is why He chose Mary to be the mother of His only Son.  He knew she would not question His plan of salvation.  (Did she even know she was such an integral part of Salvation?)

I am sure Mary had her doubts and I am sure she made mistakes as well.   We are human, Mary included.  However, her faith in God and her unwavering trust in Him to lead her, Joseph and Jesus to where He needed them to be is what inspires me.  Not that she knew what to do.  That she didn’t know what to do and did it anyway.  Not that she had all the answers.  That she didn’t have any of the answers and gave it her best anyway.  Not that she was the mother of the year.  That she was a humble, poor, girl who never carried a child and birthed the Prince of Peace anyway.

These are the reason I look up to Mary.  These are the reasons as a woman today, I need to have steadfast faith and unwavering trust, like Mary did at 14.

Breath of Heaven – Mary’s Song

11 thoughts on “Mary

  1. mommagracejones says:

    Erin- what a great thought to look up to the mother of Jesus. And what a role model she is for all young women. No matter what God is calling you to do, have the faith of Mary…

    Thank you for posting this blog!

  2. NIchole Wolland says:

    Very insightful! We all know the story, but when you dig it apart like you did it is even more amazing. I want to be like Mary, accepting God’s job for me without knowing what will happen down the road. I want to have that trust & faith, just like Mary!

  3. Bridgit says:

    Erin
    I love this post! I too have learned so much from Mary. I wish I could walk out what all I have learned from her life. Interestingly enough, my 2012 verse was “Be It Unto Me According To Thy Word.” Luke 1:38
    That year I determined to be obedient to my “Daddy’s” calling. But I left fear and insecurities keep me from it! http://www.bridgitsmith.com/faith/tug-of-war-with-my-2010-verse/
    SO, again today I join you in the quest for “steadfast faith and unwavering trust, like Mary!”
    ~b

  4. Heather says:

    I love this! I have been in awe of teenaged Mary, too, ever since reading a novel-type account of the Christmas story told from her perspective (can’t remember the title, but it was very powerful at the time). Thank you for the reminder that Mary couldn’t have known what good would come from this announcement, but she would surely be aware of the bad possibilities. And yet, she said yes. Oh to have that kind of faith!

  5. Nicole Queen says:

    Beautiful, I never thought of Mary in this way. I think we get caught up as Mary as Jesus earthly mother, but never focused on Mary as a woman of faith. Thanks for opening my eyes.

  6. Sally Phillips says:

    LOVE your perspective….look at you! YOU are already looking like mary, by ditching the original draft and walking in obedience! Proud of you.

    • emcuomo says:

      Thank you Sally! I truly feel like God gave me these words. My words were definitely from me…. and like I said, I was not impressed. I prayed on it for a couple of days and then BAMM! It hit me on my way to work. As I was teaching during the day, “Mary” came up so many times it was like God was making sure I heard him! 🙂

Leave a Reply

